Service Truck Crane Operator Certification


Certification Overview


The CCO Service Truck Crane Operator certification (STC) is a subcategory of the CCO Telescopic Boom—Fixed Cab (TSS) certification [similar to the CCO Boom Truck—Fixed Cab (BTF) certification] and was developed specifically for the industries that use these smaller machines.

Service truck cranes are identified by their telescopic boom, where the base and mast structure is not integral to the stabilizer/outrigger system. Lifting is typically accomplished via a winch (electric or hydraulic) and its functions (rotation, elevation, telescoping) are either powered or manual. These machines tend to have relatively shorter boom lengths (10–35 ft) and lower capacities (1–7 Tons) as compared to other Telescopic Boom—Fixed Cab machines (e.g., Boom Trucks, Carry Deck cranes). Additionally, operations are usually conducted by the use of radio remote or pendant control with the operator standing on the ground following the load. The illustration below shows the components and terminology typically associated with service truck cranes (click on image for larger version; download print-quality PDF).

Service Truck Crane components

Please note that the CCO Telescopic Boom—Fixed Cab Operator (TSS) and Boom Truck—Fixed Cab (BTF) certifications cover service truck cranes. Operators of service truck cranes who currently possess a TSS or BTF certification are not required to also posses the Service Truck Crane Operator certification. The reverse is not true, however. STC certification is intended only for operators of service truck cranes and not for those who operate larger Telescopic Boom—Fixed Cab or Boom Truck—Fixed Cab cranes. To be certified to operate all TSS cranes, candidates must achieve the full TSS certification (Core + TSS specialty written + TSS practical). To be certified to operate all BTF cranes, candidates much achieve the full BTF certification (Core + BTF specialty written +TSS practical taken on a boom truck).


Visit How to Test for instructions for applying for and taking CCO Written and Practical Exams; visit How to Recertify for instructions on recertification. 

Complete instructions, exam contents, and candidate applications are also contained in the Candidate Handbook for each program.

Written Exam


The Service Truck Crane Operator Written Examination consists of a single comprehensive exam with 70 questions. Candidates are allowed 90 minutes to complete the exam. Please note that candidates for the Service Truck Crane Operator program are not required to take the Mobile Crane Operator Core Exam.

Candidate results are reported as a scaled score, with a score of 70 representing the minimum passing score for this test. Written exam score reports include a strength and weakness report by content domain.

Practical Exam


The Service Truck Crane Operator Practical Exam demonstrates crane operation proficiency. It consists of five main tasks that increase progressively in the skill level tested. Skills tested are: inspecting the equipment, hoisting, booming, swinging, following hand signals, and combination (multifunction) operations. Crane operation with load and without load is required.

Both the Practical Examination and the scoring system have been validated and verified by NCCCO’s pilot testing program. A score of 70 represents the minimum passing score for Mobile Crane Practical Examinations.



NCCCO certification is valid for five years. Candidates who can attest to at least 500 hours of crane-related experience during their period of certification do not need to take the Practical Exam to recertify. Crane-related experience is defined as: operating, maintaining, inspecting, or training on cranes.

Recertification candidates must complete all recertification requirements during the 12 months prior to their certification’s expiration date. There is no grace period after their certification expires. Candidates whose certification has lapsed must take both the regular Written and Practical Examinations again to be certified again.

Get complete instructions on How to Recertify.