Mobile Crane Operator Certification


Certification Overview

Welcome to the CCO Mobile Crane Operator certification program. The NCCCO Mobile Crane Task Force that developed this nationally recognized and internationally accredited certification program was made up of experts from all aspects of the crane industry—crane operators, crane users, trainers, safety supervisors, manufacturers—who together represent many thousands of hours of crane-related experience. These volunteers gave freely of their time and expertise with the primary goal of improving the safety of all whose work brings them into contact with cranes and lifting equipment.


Visit How to Test for instructions on applying for and taking CCO Written and Practical Exams; visit How to Recertify for instructions on recertification. 

Complete instructions and exam applications are also contained in the Candidate Handbook for each program.

Written Exam


The Mobile Crane Operator Written Examinations consist of a Core Examination in crane operation and up to four crane Specialty Examinations. Certification requires competency in both the Core and one or more Specialty designation(s).

The Core Examination has 90 multiple-choice questions. Candidates are allowed 90 minutes to complete the Core Examination. Each Specialty Examinations consists of 26 multiple-choice questions. Candidates are allowed 60 minutes to complete each Specialty Examination.

All candidates are required to take the Core Examination, regardless of the Specialty(s) in which they wish to be certified.

Written exams may be taken as either paper/pencil tests (PPT) or computer-based tests (CBT), as described under How to Test.

The NCCCO Written Specialty Examinations are:

  • Lattice Boom Crawler Cranes (LBC)
  • Lattice Boom Truck Cranes (LBT)
  • Telescopic Boom Cranes—Swing Cab (TLL)
  • Telescopic Boom Cranes—Fixed Cab (TSS)

Candidates must register for the Core and at least one of the Specialty Examinations. Candidates meeting the eligibility requirements may take the Written and Practical Examinations in any order.

Practical Exam


The Mobile Crane Operator Practical Examinations demonstrate crane operation proficiency and are available in three crane types:

  • Lattice Boom Cranes (covering both LBC and LBT)
  • Telescopic Boom Cranes—Swing Cab (TLL)
  • Telescopic Boom Cranes—Fixed Cab (TSS)

A candidate must pass the Written Core and at least one Specialty Examination as well as the corresponding Practical Exam(s) to be certified for a five-year period.



NCCCO certification is valid for five years. Recertification candidates must complete all recertification requirements during the 12 months prior to their certification’s expiration date. 

Candidates who are not certified in all Specialties may add a new Specialty at the same time as they take their Recertification Examinations by taking the full examination in that Specialty.

Review recertification requirements for Mobile Crane Operators.

Get complete instructions on How to Recertify